The 3rd-edition Formula Drift Malaysia roars back to Merdeka square

3rdedition-formula-drift-malaysia-roars-merdeka-square  The Formula Drift Malaysia is back again for its second edition at the Dataran Merdeka in the heart of the capital city of Malaysia. From 17 – 18 December, the best drifters in the region will bring thunder and lightning to Kuala Lumpur; the venue where the Formula Drift Asia series traditionally concludes.

Formula Drift Malaysia held its first showcase at MAEPS in Serdang in 2009; the event then moved to the Merdeka square in 2010 to appease a larger crowd.Fans in Malaysia for the 3rd time will get to see top-class drivers burn up the course two-at-a-time, often only inches apart, as well as lots of aggressive action, nail-biting power slides and nerve-wrecking incidents.

This year, spectators can look forward to catch some 40 professional drivers from across Asia-Pacific pushing their rear-wheel-drive cars to the limit with impeccable precision and vehicle control. This year’s edition will see the return of defending champion Daigo Saito, who has stamped his authority on the series having won the Singapore and Indonesian legs earlier in convincing fashion.
Saito will be facing stiff competition from his fellow countryman and race legend Orido Manubu in his RSR Toyota Supra. This will be Orido’s debut in the Formula Drift Asia series and fans can expect no less than some world-class drifting skills on display by this legend. Other top drivers from the region include; Thai stars Kiki Sak Nana and Saranon, in addition to Australian champion Josh Boetchher, who will make his maiden appearance in Malaysia.
Malaysia’s top drivers will be looking to capitalize on the local partisan support and their homeground advantage as they eye for podium finishes at the championship in front of their fans in KL. Local crowd favourites such as Ivan Lau, Tan Tat Wei (Goodyear Team Malaysia), Ariff Johanis (Goodyear Team Malaysia) and Ee Yoong Chern will be sure to give the international drivers a run for their money. For some reasons, perennial Drifting champion Tengku Djan Ley has declined entry to the Formula Drift Malaysia this time around.
Goodyear were the official title sponsors for the past two Formula Drift Malaysia, but for 2011 Indonesian tyre make Achilles took over that role.  Achilles immediately took up Saito as their lead driver in the Spark Achilles Motorsport team. At this season’s FD Indonesia, Saito and Achilles-sponsored teams annihilated the competition, with Rulli Armando from Achilles Drift Indonesia Team and Pond from Redbull Achilles Drift Thailand Team in second and third.
The Formula Drift Malaysia 2011 is the third leg of the FD Asia series 2011 which covers Singapore, Indonesia and Malaysia. Tickets are available from Ticket Pro at  Walkabout tickets cost RM28 and Grandstand tickets go for RM128.
See our Drift World section for past International Drift features…