BMW drivers sweep podium spots at DTM Spielberg

  The DTM Round 6 at Spielberg saw BMW drivers claim the top four positions in a rather one-sided race. Current Drivers’ Championship leader Marco Wittmann, at the wheel of the Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM, clinched his third win of the season at the 4.326-kilometer circuit. Second through fourth places were Augusto Farfus, Timo Glock and Martin Tomczyk.

The last time BMW occupied all four top positions at the end of a DTM race was at the finale of the 1992 season at the Hockenheimring. BMW has scored a total 71 points at Spielberg, more than at any other race since making its comeback in the DTM two years ago.

Best placed Audi and Mercedes drivers were Timo Scheider and Christien Vietoris in fifth and ninth, respectively. There were other three Audis classified in the top ten, including the RS 5 DTMs of Adrien Tambay, Mattias Ekstrom and Jamie Green.

With Wittman on top, the German managed to extend his lead in the drivers’ standings with 95 points; 39 points clear of Mattias Ekström, followed by Bruno Spengler and Edoardo Mortara.

Wittman recovers from early setback to triumph all at DTM Spielberg

Wittman bounced back from a woeful start and did a controlled race to get ahead of the rest. “I had a very bad start, which made the early stage of the race not particularly easy for me. I had to stay cool and I saved my tyres. There was plenty of action in front of me, but I didn’t see to much of it. I was just really lucky in the race,” the championship leader commented. His colleagues Spengler ended up tenth, while Joey Hand and Maxime Martin were 12th and 14th following drive-through penalties. The M4 DTM of Antonio Felix da Costa had to retire due to a technical fault.

Audi guys endured a difficult starting base to grab four positions in the top eight. Following the first half of a season that was less than perfect for him, Scheider had a reason to cheer for the first time this year. The two-time DTM champion had started on the option tyres and within just a few laps worked his way forward from grid position 14 to join the pack at the front. In the RS 5 DTM, after 47 laps, he crossed the finish line as the best Audi in fifth place. Team mates Tambay, Ekstrom and Green nailed positions sixth through eighth. Green had been the only driver to make it into the top ten in qualifying and was in contention in the group of front runners from the outset. Up to the race’s midpoint, he was running in front of the subsequent winner Marco Wittmann. However, due to a communications problem with his crew Green switched from option to standard tyres one lap too late. As a result, the Audi driver, while leading the race, was forced to pit for a drive-through penalty and in the end had to settle for eighth.The other RS 5 DTMs of Miguel Moline finished eleventh, reigning champ Mike Rockenfeller in 13th, Edoardo Mortara in 16th and Nico Muller, 19th.

Vietoris brought Mercedes some points from his ninth place finish, but the other Mercedes C-Coupés all finished below the points paying positions. Daniel Juncadella, Gary Paffett, Paul Di Resta and Vitaly Petrov came home in positions 15, 17, 18 and 20 respectively. Robert Wickens received a black flag after 33 laps due to an unsafe release from his pitstop. The previous DTM race winner had started from pole position and led the race in Spielberg for quite a while, while Mercedes Junior Pascal Wehrlein had to retire after 26 laps.

The upcoming DTM Round 7 bout hits the Nürburgring on the weekend of 16 – 17 August.

2014 DTM (Deutschen Tourenwagen Masters) Spielberg results

1 Marco Wittmann BMW 1:08.23.185
2 Augusto Farfus BMW +3.298
3 Timo Glock BMW +5.391
4 Martin Tomczyk BMW +6.237
5 Timo Scheider Audi +6.666
6 Adrien Tambay Audi +12.213
7 Mattias Ekström Audi +14.046
8 Jamie Green Audi +14.456
9 Christian Vietoris Mercedes-Benz +15.224
10 Bruno Spengler BMW +15.782

Drivers standings
1. Marco Wittmann 95 points
2. Mattias Ekström 56
3. Bruno Spengler 42
4. Edoardo Mortara 41
5. Adrien Tambay 36
6. Mike Rockenfeller 35
7. Maxime Martin 33
8. Christian Vietoris 33
9. Augusto Farfus 33
10. Timo Glock 33