BMW get royal flush at DTM Oschersleben, coutersy of Blomqvist and Glock

 2015 DTM Oschersleben Tom Blomqvist wins race 2 The DTM returned back to familiar territory over the weekend at the Oschersleben for Rounds 13 and 14. BMW drivers rookie Tom Blomqvist and Timo Glock took wins in race 2 and 1, topping main rivals from the Mercedes and Audi camps.

For Blomqvist, it was his first ever victory in the DTM as he went faster than the opposition from start to finish and won it by 8 seconds ahead of team mate and fellow BMW driver Augusto Farfus. Reigning DTM Champion Marco Wittman ended up third and team mate António Félix da Costa completed the top-four sweep in race 2. For Mercedes and Audi, only Pascal Wehrlein managed to slot into the top ten with a fifth place finish, while Jamie Green has an eighth place finish for the four-ring marque.

Race 2, like the first race, saw four BMWs lock on the top four positions, hence nothing could prevent any of the top four BMWs from the win; barring unfortunate incidents. At race start, Farfus, who held pole, lost his position straight away (before the first turn) to Blomqvist. For Wehrlein, the situation was the opposite: he wasn’t able to hold on to his third grid position after a poor start. da Costa and Wittmann went past the Mercedes driver at the chicane to secure the four-way lead for BMW that was to remain unaffected until the end of the race. There were two accidents at the tight S-corner right off the grid: Christian Vietoris came together with Miguel Molina and Lucas Auer tangled with Nico Muller. After the safety car period on lap 3, Mattias Ekström had made up several positions, going from 18th to 13th to fall behind his championship rivals Jamie Green and Bruno Spengler.

On lap 5, Green started a spirited attack on Spengler at the chicane, went past the BMW M4 DTM and claimed eleventh place. Green’s hard, but fair manoeuvre briefly forced Spengler into the gravel trap, a situation that Ekström used immediately to get past the BMW driver as well. Behind Maxime Martin in tenth place, the trio with good chances in the drivers’ standings started their hunt for Vietoris. The latter initially had to let Martin past and then saw his three rivals passing by like a steam-roller: Green, Ekström and Spengler dealt with the Mercedes-Benz driver at the chicane and demoted him from tenth to 13th place.

The final decision about the order in the four-way battle group came after the pit stops. Spengler was the first driver to come in for the mandatory tyre changes on lap eleven. His rivals followed one lap later. All drivers having rejoined the race, Green had overtaken Martin for eighth place thanks to his quick pit stop, but Spengler managed to get past Ekström into tenth place after the quick change by his team. All four drivers held on to their positions until the end of the race. While his rivals battled for the final points, championship leader Wehrlein drove an undeterred final stint to a fifth place finish.

For Blomqvist, the race didn’t end with a proper crossing of the finish line. With one lap remaining, Auer crashed his Mercedes-Benz heavily into the tyre stacks. Auer remained unscathed, but the race was stopped with the red flag and not restarted.

In the battle for the DTM crown, Wehrlein has now scored 140 points. After his non-score at Oschersleben, Ekström remains at 126 points. With the results at Oschersleben, BMW has moved up from last to first in the manufacturers’ standings and, with 488 points, now has a clear lead from Audi with 422 points and Mercedes-Benz with 417 points.

Glock on the money in DTM Oschersleben Race 1

After qualifying, joy and relieve were huge already and after the race, Glock was overwhelmed for emotion. With clenched fists and loud cheers of joy, he crossed the finish line as race 1’s winner at Oschersleben. Glock had made maximum use of his pole position, had a good start and didn’t allow any of his rivals to put him under pressure. After 28 laps, the BMW driver celebrated the second DTM race win of his career.

The team had more than one reason to celebrate as Spengler finished second, reviving his hopes in the battle for the DTM title. Completing the podium as the third BMW driver, da Costa also contributed to the perfect day for the Munich-based manufacturer. He finished ahead of another M4 DTM, driven by Farfus, who came fourth. Thus, it was left to Wehrlein to make the headlines as the only non-BMW driver. The Mercedes-Benz driver claimed fifth place and thus took back the lead in the drivers’ standings. Sixth through tenth places in race 1 went to Wittman, Blomqvist, Martin Tomczyk and Daniel Juncadella from the Mercedes AMG team outfit.

Prior to the last four races of the season, the situation in all the classifications remains exciting. The thrilling battle for the DTM title continues in the Eifel. Between 25 – 27 September, the Nürburgring is the venue for the 15th and 16th race of the season, before the grand finale at the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg, 16 – 18 October.

2015 DTM Oschersleben Tom Blomqvist podium2015 DTM Oschersleben Timo Glock race 12015 DTM Oschersleben Pascal Wehrlein, Mercedes-AMG C63 DTM

2015 DTM Oschersleben results

Race 2
1 Tom Blomqvist BMW 57:30.221
Augusto Farfus BMW +07.712
3 Marco Wittmann BMW +13.080
4 António Félix da Costa BMW +18.820
5 Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes +19.486
6 Paul Di Resta Mercedes +22.741
7 Timo Glock BMW +26.196
8 Jamie Green Audi +31.492
9 Maxime Martin BMW +32.162
10 Bruno Spengler BMW +34.389

Race 1
1 Timo Glock BMW 42:25.324
2 Bruno Spengler BMW +01.876
3 António Félix da Costa BMW +07.881
4 Augusto Farfus BMW +10.051
5 Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes +12.734
6 Marco Wittmann BMW +13.399
7 Tom Blomqvist BMW +14.040
8 Martin Tomczyk BMW +18.542
9 Miguel Molina Audi +28.264
10 Daniel Juncadella Mercedes +30.648

Drivers standings
1 Pascal Wehrlein 140
2 Mattias Ekström 126
3 Edoardo Mortara 110
4 Jamie Green 107
5 Bruno Spengler 104
6 Marco Wittmann 98
7 Gary Paffett 75
8 Augusto Farfus 73
9 António Félix da Costa 71
10 Mike Rockenfeller 67