BMW squads announce 2018 Motorsport programs

  BMW Motorsport have confirmed participation in DTM, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and several customer racing programs for the 2018 season.

For the DTM, there are more races for the new season with new circuits coming into play. In 2018, DTM fans can not only look forward to an additional race weekend, but also more rounds outside Germany. New to the calendar are Misano and Brands Hatch. The opening round (4 – 6 May) and the finale (12 – 14 October) will again take place at traditional venue, the Hockenheimring.

As in previous years, each event will feature two races. With the remaining race weekends at the Lausitzring, in Budapest, Hungary, at the Norisring, Zandvoort, Betherlands, the Nürburgring and Spielberg, Austria, five rounds will be held in Germany and five in other European countries. This underlines the Europe-wide importance of the DTM as a prominent German Touring Cars series.

BMW to tackle the 24h Dubai: Customer racing debut for the BMW M4 GT4.

The BMW M4 GT4 will make its customer racing debut between 10 – 13 January. The Securtal Sorg Rennsport and 3Y Technology teams will both compete with the new BMW customer racing car at the 24 Hours of Dubai. The French team fielding two cars means that three BMW M4 GT4s will take their place on the grid at the start of 2018. A specific BMW M235i Racing Cup class will also feature in Dubai. Six cars from four teams will do battle for class victory at the 24 Hours of Dubai. Other teams will also field private BMW cars.

BMW tackles 12h Bathurst

Australian touring car legend Tony Longhurst will take part in the 12-hour race at Bathurst with a well-known name at the wheel of a BMW M4 GT4. Matt Brabham, nephew of three-time Formula 1 champion Jack Brabham, will race alongside Aaron Seton. In doing so, Brabham is continuing a family tradition. Not only did his grandfather Jack take part in the classic at the Mount Panorama circuit, but so did his father Geoff. Both took their place on the winners list, with Geoff Brabham taking victory at the wheel of a BMW in 1997.