DTM returns to action for Rounds 5 & 6 at Norisring

 2015 DTM M Gotz action at Lausitz After a month-long break, the DTM is back in action with rounds five and six at the Norisring where the title chase between the usual suspects continues. Audi is of course the championship leader, following Jamie Green’s remarkable sweep at the previous round in Lausitz.

Both BMW and Mercedes-Benz have opportunities to reclaim some momentum from the league leaders as the Audi RS 5 DTMs carry additional weight on board at Norisring, as required by the regulations. Regardless, Audi squads are set on continuing its winning streak in the DTM and clinching its seventh consecutive triumph. To make matters tougher, Audi DTM have not been beaten in nine months. The two Audi drivers Green and Mattias Ekström have each won three of the last six DTM races for Audi.

2015 DTM Lausitz Jamie Green wins twice

The leader of the drivers’ standings, Green, has already celebrated four victories in Nuremberg and finished as the runner-up last year. Green, who triumphed at Lausitzring prior to the break, is eager to maintain his performance at Nuremberg, despite carrying additional weight. “With three victories in the first four races, I managed a dream start to the season,” the Briton said. “Now, the Norisring, one of my favorite tracks that I’ve always been able to handle particularly well, is coming up. Obviously, it’s not going to be easy for us because we have to start with a lot of additional weight. But the RS 5 DTM fits my driving style so perfectly this year that we should be in contention for victory in spite of this.”

Ekström has frequently been on podium at the Norisring and in 2013 crossed the finish line in first place, but was retroactively taken out of the classification. On the occasion of the victory clinched in Audi’s debut at the Norisring 25 years ago, Ekström is slated to race in the colors of the 1990 Audi V8 quattro at Norisring.


2015 DTM Hockenheim race 2 Marco Wittman

There is one driver in the BMW DTM squads who is particularly looking forward to races five and six of the season, Reigning DTM champion and local boy Marco Wittmann. Wittmann yesterday took part in a Formula 1 test at Spielberg with Toro Rosso; a special arrangement enabled by BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt.

The manufacturers represented in the DTM took part in testing at the Lausitzring in preparation for the races in Nuremberg. Augusto Farfus, Martin Tomczyk, Timo Glock and António Félix da Costa all took part in the race-preparation test session. The two BMW M4 DTMs were fielded by BMW Team RMG and BMW Team MTEK. The four BMW drivers covered more than 2,000 kilometers in total. Glock headed straight to Le Castellet from there, where he contested his first joint race with Alessandro Zanardi and Bruno Spengler in the BMW Z4 GT3. The trio are currently preparing for their start in the 24-hour race in Spa Francorchamps on 25 – 26 July. The three drivers retired early due to a technical issue on their debut in the Blancpain Endurance Series, but were able to gain valuable insights with regard to the 24 Hours of Spa. The other BMW DTM driver in action during the break was Maxime Martin, who alongside Markus Palttala and Lucas Luhr, finished in third place for BMW Sports Trophy and made it onto the podium after the six-hour race at Paul Ricard.

2015 DTM Hockenheim race 1 Gary Paffett

Mercedes DTM squads are desperately trying to get the season going their way. The drivers hope their fortunes can change at Norisring, this weekend. The veteran Gary Paffett, who captured a podium finish at the season-opener in Hockenheim, fell victim to a mechanical fault on his C-Coupe at Lausitzring. “I’m looking forward to going to the Norisring. Hopefully we won’t have any problems there. The pace of the car has been good so far. ART have done a good job with setting the car up. Hopefully we can realise the potential we have in the car and maybe get on the podium,” Paffett remarked.

Paffett’s team mate Robert Wickens, Christian Vietoris, Daniel Juncadella, Lucas Auer, Maximilian Götz and Pascal Wehrlein are all ready to turn around the fortunes for the Three-point Star at Nuremberg.