Green and Audi continue dominance at DTM Lausitzring

 2015 DTM Lausitz Jamie Green leads race 2 It was all Audi at the DTM Lausitzring over the weekend, with two 1-2-3-4 finishes in both races. Jamie Green led the proceedings with two victories on Saturday and Sunday, becoming the first driver to win a double under the new race format. Three races, the best grid position three times and three wins: Audi’s tally in the 2015 DTM remains impeccable.

In race 1, a perfect start followed in which the Audi quartet was able to parry off the attacks by the competition from BMW and Mercedes-Benz and defended positions one to four initially in the same order. Up to the 25th of the 32 laps Miguel Molina defended the lead before having to give in to the pressure by his brand colleagues Green, Edoardo Mortara and Mattias Ekström, which caused him to drop to fourth place. In the end, no one could deny the Audis, led by Green, to another dominant victory.

The victory in race 1 by Green was particularly impressive from two perspectives. The Briton is not in the best of health and can hardly talk, which made radio communications with his team more difficult. In addition, the drag reduction system (DRS) that allows the rear wing angle to be flattened did not work in his case. “That’s why it was hard to overtake Miguel (Molina),” said the Briton following his triumph. “But my car was simply perfect for my driving style. With two successes in the first three races, this is a dream start to the new season for me.”

Three Audi drivers; Green (50 points), Mortara (48) and Ekström (40); continue to rank at the top of the standings, after the first race.

Audi also dominated proceedings in race two, with Green being the usual suspect for the win. Ekström and Molina took the remaining podium slots. In total, seven of the eight Audi drivers made it into the top ten. In sixth position, Daniel Juncadella was the best-placed Mercedes-Benz driver while Maxime Martin was the fastest BMW driver in eighth.

The Briton repeated his commanding success from the day before, as he prevailed in a direct duel with Ekström in the early stage. After having dropped from first to second place at the start, he managed the decisive overtaking maneuver on lap eight. Afterwards, he was able to achieve a small advantage and immediately pulled clear again following a caution period shortly before the end of the race.

“The second race was harder than the first,” Green said after scoring his third victory of the season. “Mattias (Ekström) was fast and my advantage was never really large. Obviously, having won both races here is mega.”

Ninth and tenth place finishers Nico Müller and Mike Rockenfeller who made it seven of the eight Audi drivers in the points; that’s sheer dominance for ya. Only Adrien Tambay went home empty-handed, having been forced into a spin by BMW’s Bruno Spengler in the race. Spengler received a 30-minute post-race penalty for the incident.

Ekström clinched a similarly uncontested second place and is now trailing Jamie Green in second place of the drivers’ standings. With the double success at the Lausitzring, Audi extended its lead in the DTM manufacturers’ standings as well. Audi Sport Teams Rosberg and Abt Sportsline are ranked at the top of the standings with an equal points score.

The next DTM round will resume in July (10 – 12) after a short break at the Zandvoort track in the Netherlands.

2015 DTM Lausitz Jamie Green at the line race 22015-DTM-Lausitz-start-of-race22015-DTM-Lausitz-Jamie-Green-podium2015 DTM Lausitz Jamie Green wins twiceMotorsports / DTM 2. race Lausitzring2015 DTM Lausitz Mattias Ekstrom

2015 DTM Lausitzring results

Race 1
1 Jamie Green Audi 42:15.135
2 Edoardo Mortara Audi +4.261
3 Mattias Ekström Audi +5.220
4 Miguel Molina Audi +6.969
5 Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes-Benz +8.122
6 Robert Wickens Mercedes-Benz +10.657
7 Maxime Martin BMW +13.014
8 Timo Scheider Audi +13.361
9 Mike Rockenfeller Audi +16.719
10 Daniel Juncadella Mercedes-Benz +19.619

Race 2
1 Jamie Green Audi 1:02:33.014
2 Mattias Ekström Audi +02.144
3 Miguel Molina Audi +05.038
4 Timo Scheider Audi +05.678
5 Edoardo Mortara Audi +07.708
6 Daniel Juncadella Mercedes +09.1657
7 Christian Vietoris Mercedes +09.906
8 Maxime Martin BMW +10.789
9 Nico Müller Audi +11.187
10 Mike Rockenfeller Audi +12.055

Drivers standings
1 Jamie Green 75
2 Mattias Ekström 58
3 Edoardo Mortara 58
4 Pascal Wehrlein 32
5 Miguel Molina 27
6 Mike Rockenfeller 21
7 Timo Scheider 16
8 Maxime Martin 16
9 Paul Di Resta 15
10 Gary Paffett 15