Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia Round 2 hits the Burinam Track

  After an electrifying season-opener in Malaysia last month, the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia 2018 heads to Thailand this week for what is set to be a blistering double-header at the 4.554km Buriram International Circuit, 11 – 13 May.

The international field for Round 2 features two local heroes Saravut Sereethoranakul of PSC, who dominated the Am class in Malaysia, and Suttiluck Buncharoen, as well as newcomer Takamichi Matsuda, the Japanese privateer and motorsport newcomer.

Leading the charge into the Land of Smiles at the top of the Pro category after two races are the FFF Racing Team crew of Italian Andrea Amici and Arthur Janosz of Poland. A near-perfect season start by the pair saw them take two victories in the opening weekend to top the leaderboard. Indian Pro pairing Armaan Ebrahim and Anindith Reddy made a strong debut together in their Top Speed Racing Team Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo EVO. They lie second in the Pro championship race, tied with the second FFF Racing Team crew of British teenagers Jack Bartholomew and James Pull.

Arriving in Thailand with a score to settle and determined to finally deliver on their scorching pace are the Australian Leipert crew of Ben Gersekowski and Richard Muscat. Twice thwarted in Malaysia by technical issues, the second time forced to retire from their Round 2 pole position before the race had even begun, expect a tour de force from these guys in Thailand.

Japan’s Takeshi Matsumoto and Toshiyuki Ochiai top the Pro-Am class for HoJust Racing after deftly earning a pole position, win and podium finish in Malaysia. However, just three points behind is the potent Gama Racing pairing of Chinese Taipei’s Evan Chen and experienced Japanese driver Akihiro Asai. In what is already shaping up to be the closest fought of the classes, Leipert’s Finnish crew of Mikko Eskelinen and 19-year-old Juuso Puhakka trail the leaders by just five points, while there is much more to come from the thoroughly international Aylezo Motorsport crew of Malaysian Kumar Prabakaran and Cédric Sbirrazzuoli of Monaco.

Lamborghini Cup leaders Paul Wong and Clement Li of the 852 Challengers and last year’s vice champion, Italian Gabriele Murroni of the GDL Racing Team, are joined by newcomer Matsuda who enters the battle for silverware.

Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo EVO

The new Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo EVO made its series debut in Malaysia and immediately won universal praise from the championship drivers.

The Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia field will take to the track for the second time this weekend at the Burinam track, starting with the two hour-long free practice slots on 11 May, followed by qualifying sessions for each race on Saturday, with Round 3 beginning at 13:00 local time. Round 4 begins afternoon on Sunday, 13 May. hannels.

 Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia Entry List

2.#19/Pro/Jack BARTHOLOMEW (GBR)/James PULL (GBR)
3.#27/Pro/Armaan EBRAHIM (IND)/Anindith REDDY (IND)
4.#33/Pro-Am/Mikko ESKELINEN (FIN)/Juuso PUHAKKA (FIN)
5.#38/Pro-Am/Takeshi MATSUMOTO (JPN)/Toshiyuki OCHIAI (JPN)
6.#44/LC/Paul WONG (HKG)/Clement LI (HKG)
7.#55/Am/Ken URATA (JPN)/Daisuke MATSUNAGA (JPN)
9.#63/Pro/Andrea AMICI (ITA)/Artur JANOSZ (POL)
10.#68/Pro-Am/Evan CHAN (TPE)/Akihiro ASAI (JPN)
11.#69/Am/BIAN (CHN)/HAN Huilin (CHN)
12.#88/LC/Gabriele MURRONI (ITA)
14.Am/Suttiluck BUNCHAROEN (THA)/True Visions Motorsport
15.LC/Takamichi MATSUDA (JPN)/YH Racing Team