Lorenzo powers to second straight win at Catalan MotoGP

Jorge Lorenzo followed up last weekend’s win with another dominating win at the Catalan GP on Sunday. Lorenzo won the race ahead of Reigning Champion Marc Marquez and Valentino Rossi.

Lorenzo started from pole but lost out to Marquez initially, but managed to pip Marquez on the second lap. He then held the lead until the chequered flag.

Marquez’s second meant that he is able to extend his Championship lead to 27 points over runner-up Valentino Rossi, who ended up seventh. Lorenzo who won two-in-a-row moved up to seventh place in the standings on 66 points.

It was an unfortunate race for Dovizioso as he crashed out under braking for Turn 5 when he was in third, on lap 9. He was forced to retire, relinquishing third to Rossi. Rossi had a good start from seventh on the grid and stormed to fifth going into Turn 1. One lap in, he passed Andrea Iannone and was in pursuit of the three-rider front group.

After Dovizioso went out, Rossi moved up to third place, with a 3.5s gap to the leaders and over 2.5s to the rider behind him, the remaining 15 laps were a lonely ride for the Doctor. He rode home in third, ahead of Dani Pedrosa who was able to maintain a decent pace despite struggling with a lack of grip, defending fifth position over Vinales on the final lap. Meanwhile, Viñales endured a tough start and was placed at mid-pack after the start but made up positions in the second half of the race. He would finish sixth place, eventually.

Seventh through tenth place finishers were Johann Zarco, Danilo Petrucci, Alvaro Bautista and Iannone.

MotoGP will be back in action at the TT Assen round 8, from 29 June – 1 July.

2018 MotoGP Catalunya results

1 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati ESP 40’13.566
2 Marc Marquez Honda ESP 00’04.479
3 Valentino Rossi Yamaha ITA 00’06.098
4 Cal Crutchlow Honda GBR 00’09.805
5 Daniel Pedrosa Honda ESP 00’10.640
6 Maverick Viñales Yamaha ESP 00’10.798
7 Johann Zarco Yamaha FRA 00’13.432
8 Danilo Petrucci Ducati ITA 00’15.055
9 Alvaro Bautista Ducati ESP 00’22.057
10 Andrea Iannone Suzuki ITA 00’24.141
11 Pol Espargaro KTM ESP 00’36.560
12 Scott Redding Ducati GBR 00’38.229
13 Karel Abraham Ducati CZE 01’21.526
14 Franco Morbidelli Honda ITA 3 laps
15 Hafizh Syahrin Yamaha MYS 4 laps

Riders standings
1 Marc Marquez Honda ESP 115
2 Valentino Rossi Yamaha ITA 88
3 Maverick Viñales Yamaha ESP 77
4 Johann Zarco Yamaha FRA 73
5 Danilo Petrucci Ducati ITA 71
6 Cal Crutchlow Honda GBR 69
7 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati ITA 66
8 Andrea Iannone Suzuki ITA 66
9 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati ESP 66
10 Jack Miller Honda AUS 49
11 Daniel Pedrosa Honda ESP 40
12 Alex Rins Suzuki ESP 33
13 Alvaro Bautista Ducati ESP 27
14 Tito Rabat Honda ESP 27
15 Pol Espargaro KTM ESP 25
16 Franco Morbidelli Honda ITA 19
17 Hafizh Syahrin Yamaha MYS 18
18 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia ESP 13
19 Takaaki Nakagami Honda JPN 11
20 Scott Redding Ducati GBR 9
21 Bradley Smith KTM GBR 8
22 Mika Kallio KTM FIN 6
23 Karel Abraham Ducati CZE 4