Marquez is 2017 MotoGP Champion

  the youngest rider to win that many premier class titles. In all, Marquez has six titles including the 125cc and Moto2 in a decade of two-wheel racing.

The season finale was won by Marquez’s team mate Dani Pedrosa, with title rival Andrea Dovizioso crashing out in the middle of the race. Pedrosa picked up on;y his second race win of the season.

The race started with Marquez leading and Pedrosa slotting in second, from a second row start. Yamaha Tech 3’s Johann Zarco was third, followed by the two Ducatis of Dovizioso and Jorge Lorenzo. Zarco, in the satellite Yamaha, managed to snatch the lead from the Repsol Hondas in the first couple of laps. Marquez and Pedrosa were tucked in second and third in the early going.

Marquez soon reclaimed back the lead, following a mistake by Zarco. But, Zarco would bounce back when Marquez nearly slipped up and crashed out of the race. The Repsol Honda ace managed to hold on and recovered to run behind his title rival in fifth.. The order was Pedrosa, Zarco, Lorenzo, Dovizioso and Marquez. Then, disaster struck both Ducatis; first, Lorenzo lost it during his hard chase for Pedrosa and Zarco, next Dovizioso would go down as he ran off into the gravel. Marquez could breath easy from that point on…

It was the duel between Pedrosa and Zarco after the mid-distance of the race. Zarco held the lead quite nicely until Pedrosa attacked the Yamaha rider into turn 1 at the start of the last lap. Pedrosa then sprinted away to the flag for a second win of the year, with Zarco in a close second and Marquez, a distant third.

Behind the top three were Suzuki’s rookie rider Alex Rins, then the Yamaha of Valentino Rossi, Rin’s team mate Andrea Iannone and Jack Miller. Cal Crutchlow finished eighth, ahead of Ducati’s wildcard rider Michele Pirro and a certain Tito Rabat, who completed the top ten.

For Marquez, it was a season to remember, he has won all his MotoGP titles riding Honda motorcycles. The only Honda rider to have won more premier-class title is Mick Doohan, who won five premier-class titles in the 1990s. The only Spanish rider to have won more titles than Marquez was Angel Nieto, who won 13 championships (seven in the 125cc class and six in the 50cc class) between 1969 and 1984.

In addition, Marquez has won at least five GPs per season over the past eight years, across three categories: 125cc, Moto2 and MotoGP. He is the first rider to achieve this distinction in the 69-year history of motorcycle Grand Prix racing. Previously, Mike Hailwood was the only man to have achieved at least five victories per season over seven years, across at least three classes, between 1961 and 1967.

2017 MotoGP Valencia results

1 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team 46:08.125
2 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +0.337
3 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team +10.861
4 Alex RINS SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR +13.567
5 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP +13.817
7 Jack MILLER AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS +17.087
8 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda +17.230
9 Michele PIRRO ITA Ducati Team +25.942
10 Tito RABAT SPA EG 0,0 Marc VDS +27.020
11 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing +30.835
12 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP +35.012
13 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA OCTO Pramac Racing +38.076
14 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team +41.988
15 Hector BARBERA SPA Reale Avintia Racing +47.703
16 Loris BAZ FRA Reale Avintia Racing +47.709
17 Michael VAN DER MARK NED Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +52.134

Final Riders standings

1 Marc MARQUEZ Honda SPA 298
2 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati ITA 261
3 Maverick VIÑALES Yamaha SPA 230
4 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 210
5 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 208
6 Johann ZARCO Yamaha FRA 174
7 Jorge LORENZO Ducati SPA 137
8 Danilo PETRUCCI Ducati ITA 124
9 Cal CRUTCHLOW Honda GBR 112
10 Jonas FOLGER Yamaha GER 84
11 Jack MILLER Honda AUS 82
12 Alvaro BAUTISTA Ducati SPA 75
13 Andrea IANNONE Suzuki ITA 70
14 Scott REDDING Ducati GBR 64
15 Aleix ESPARGARO Aprilia SPA 62
16 Alex RINS Suzuki SPA 59
18 Loris BAZ Ducati FRA 45
19 Tito RABAT Honda SPA 35
20 Karel ABRAHAM Ducati CZE 32
21 Bradley SMITH KTM GBR 29
22 Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 28
23 Michele PIRRO Ducati ITA 25
25 Sam LOWES Aprilia GBR 5
26 Katsuyuki NAKASUGA Yamaha JPN 4
27 Sylvain GUINTOLI Suzuki FRA 1