Marquez proves he’s the GOAT at Catalunya GP

Reigning Champion took a dominant win at the Catalunya Grand Prix, ahead of Fabio Quartararo and Danilo Petrucci. The win was his fourth of the season and his 48th career win. He now leads the Riders standings with a 15-point advantage from Andrea Dovizioso.

At the start, Marquez, Dovizioso and Quartararo were right there in the lead group. Valentino Rossi and Danilo Petrucci played catch up with the led group. Dovizioso would jump into the lead in the first lap. Meantime, the second Repsol Honda pf Jorge Lorenzo was in the mix as well. Lorenzo made a leap from 10th to 4th in a matter of two corners. By lap two, the Spaniard would retire from the race following a collision with Dovizioso in the second lap. The collision took out four riders in total.

With his championship rival out, Marquez would soon lead the Catalan GP with a comfortable margin in the early stint. He consistently lapped  in the mid to low 1’40s during the early stages of the race. Petrucci inherited second spot and engaged in a close battle with Alex Rins and Quartararo for a podium spot. Quartararo had been a Satellite rider to watch this weekend as he gained second place from the middle part of the race.  

In the closing laps, the top three were settled with Marquez, Quartararo and Petrucci locking the podium.  Rins was fourth for Suzuki, ahead Jack Miller’s Pramac. Fifth through tenth were Joan Mir, Pol Espargaro, Takaaki Naragami, Tito Rabat and Johann Zarco.

Yamaha riders drops further back in the rankings as both Rossi and Maverick Viñales retired from potential top five finishes.

The Teams now prepare for a day of testing at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. The following round is scheduled for Assen, 28 – 30 June in a few weeks time.

2019 MotoGP Catalunya results

1     MARQUEZ Marc  Repsol Honda    40’31.175

2     QUARTARARO Fabio Yamaha SRT       +2.660

3     PETRUCCI Danilo      Ducati       4.537

4     RINS Alex     Suzuki    6.602

5     MILLER Jack Pramac Racing       6.870

6     MIR Joan      Suzuki    7.040

7     ESPARGARO Pol       KTM 16.144

8     NAKAGAMI Takaaki   LCR Honda    17.969

9     RABAT Tito   Avintia Racing       22.661

10   ZARCO Johann   KTM       26.228