Montoya ready to tackle first ever Le Mans

The 2018 Le Mans has began on Wednesday with practice followed by the exciting qualifying on Thursday. The race is scheduled for this Sunday at 3 p.m. local time.

The newest regulations now allow teams to change their starting driver selection, half hour after the final qualifying. Following the latest drivers list released, McLaren F1 driver Fernando Alonso (Toyota) and Jenson Button (SMP Racing) will not be on the starting grid, but Le Mans rookie Juan Pablo Montoya (United Autosports – LMP2) will in fact take the first stint in the race. Montoya is an expert in ultra fast circuits. In 2001, he scored his first Formula 1 win, at Monza in Italy. In 2000 and 2015, he won the Indianapolis 500. And in 2014, at the American oval circuit Pocono, he did the fastest 500-mile race of all time: 800 km at an average of 325 km/h in less than 2 hours 30 minutes. The former F1 driver is also familiar with long races, counting three wins at the Rolex 24 at Daytona (2007, 2008 and 2013) on an oval circuit.

After the practice and qualifiers, he said, “The turns are extremely fast at Le Mans. They are true fast corners in the sense that if you go out, you can hurt yourself. There’s the right turn just before Indianapolis. And in the Porsche Curves you keep as much speed as you can. I’ve loved fast turns my entire life.”

The drivers set to take the start are indicated by an asterisk in the list of competitors, drivers and cars eligible to take part in the free practice session scheduled on 13 June. For finalized drivers list, view the picture here: 24-heures-du-mans-2018

2018 Le Mans time table

Free Practice Wed 13 Jun – 16h00 4H
Qualifying 1 Wed 13 Jun – 22h00 2H
Qualifying 2 Thu 14 Jun – 19h00 2H
Qualifying 3 Thu 14 Jun – 22h00 2H
Warm-up Sat 16 Jun – 09h00 45min
Race Sat 16 Jun – 15h00 24H