MotoGP Mugello: Lorenzo captures first win as Ducati rider

Ducati riders Jorge Lorenzo and Andrea Dovizioso put on an excellent show in front of the team’s adoring hometown fans with a 1 – 2 finish at Mugello. The final podium spot went to Valentino Rossi who came out tops in a tight battle with four other riders.

A master of the Mugello track, Lorenzo, who got a perfect start from the front row, dominated the Italian Grand Prix from the first to the last lap, thus scoring his first win on a Ducati. Dovizioso recovered from a tough qualifying to finish runners-up.

Both Repsol Hondas of Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa had a race to forget as Marquez crashed out while battling for a podium spot, while Pedrosa’s race ended on the very first lap.

Although Marquez dropped precious points in the standings, he still holds a comfortable 13-point lead ahead of Rossi who jumped to second place, after his third place finish.

Lorenzo controlled the pace from the start, with Rossi and Marquez in tow. Marquez overtook the Doctor on lap 3 but crashed out two laps later when he lost the front of his bike. This allowed Rossi to resume his charge towards the race leader, but it wasn’t without interruptions. He went wide a few laps later and allowed Dovizioso and Suzuki’s Andrea Iannone through.

Sixteen laps from the end, the Yamaha rider was down in fifth but soon moved up to fourth. His next target was Iannone in third, and he had to fend off Danilo Petrucci and Alex Rins, at the same time. Iannone was ahead with nine laps left, but Rossi would respond by seizing two overtake opportunities on lap 17 and 18 to snatch third. Iannone tried to steal the podium position away from him, launching various attacks in turn 1, but the fans’ favorite held firm and crossed the line in third place, 6.629s from first.

Up front, Lorenzo held a comfortable lead from the start to confirm Ducati’s dominance at Mugello. “I am very happy! Yesterday I said that winning at Mugello with Ducati was a dream for me and today this dream came true. It’s one of the most special wins of my entire career, probably on the same level as my first win in 125 in 2003 and in MotoGP in 2008. I decided to push right from the start, in my usual style, and everything went perfectly. I couldn’t ask for anything more and we will have to celebrate this win in a big way. I haven’t managed to win a race for a long time and I did it my way,” affirmed Lorenzo.

Behind the top three, Iannone and Rins scored another strong finish for Suzuki with fourth and fifth. Cal Crutchlow and Petrucci were sixth and seventh, ahead of Maverick Vinales who struggled with the bike’s tyres throughout the race. The final two top-ten spots featured Alvaro Bautista and Johann Zarco.

MotoGP will be back in action in two weeks’ time at the Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya, held at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya from 15 – 17 June.

2018 MotoGP Mugello Round 6 results

1 LORENZO Jorge  Ducati 41’43.230
2 DOVIZIOSO Andrea Ducati +6.370
3 ROSSI Valentino  Yamaha 6.629
4 IANNONE Andrea Suzuki 7.885
5 RINS Alex  Suzuki 7.907
6 CRUTCHLOW Cal Honda 9.120
7 PETRUCCI Danilo Pramac 10.898
8 VINALES Maverick Yamaha 11.060
9 BAUTISTA Alvaro Angel Nieto Team  11.154
10 ZARCO Johann Yamaha Tech 3  17.644
11 ESPARGARO Red Bull KTM 20.256
12 SYAHRIN Hafizh Yamaha Tech 3 22.435
13 RABAT Tito Avintia Racing  22.464
14 SMITH Bradley Red Bull KTM 22.495
15 MORBIDELLI Franco Marc VDS 26.644

Riders standings
1 MARQUEZ Marc 93 SPA 95 Repsol Honda Team Honda
2 ROSSI Valentino 46 ITA 72 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
3 VINALES Maverick 25 SPA 67 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
4 DOVIZIOSO Andrea 4 ITA 66 Ducati Team Ducati
5 ZARCO Johann 5 FRA 64 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha
6 PETRUCCI Danilo 9 ITA 63 Alma Pramac Racing Ducati
7 IANNONE Andrea 29 ITA 60 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
8 CRUTCHLOW Cal 35 GBR 56 LCR Honda Honda
9 MILLER Jack 43 AUS 49 Alma Pramac Racing Ducati
10 LORENZO Jorge 99 SPA 41 Ducati Team Ducati
11 RINS Alex 42 SPA 33 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
12 PEDROSA Dani 26 SPA 29 Repsol Honda Team Honda
13 RABAT Tito 53 SPA 27 Reale Avintia Racing Ducati
14 ESPARGARO Pol 44 SPA 23 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
15 BAUTISTA Alvaro 19 SPA 19 Angel Nieto Team Ducati
16 SYAHRIN Hafizh 55 MAL 17 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha
17 MORBIDELLI Franco 21 ITA 17 EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda
18 ESPARGARO Aleix 41 SPA 13 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
19 NAKAGAMI Takaaki 30 JPN 10 LCR Honda Honda
20 SMITH Bradley 38 GBR 7 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
21 KALLIO Mika 36 FIN 6 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
22 REDDING Scott 45 GBR 5 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
23 ABRAHAM Karel 17 CZE 1