New DTM Trophy Series heats up the DTM in 2020

The DTM in 2020 will get a new series to create more excitement for German Touring Cars followers.

So what is the DTM Trophy? The DTM Trophy is similar to a support race featuring  start- and track-times. It compliments the main DTM event where the participating brands compete with each other with two bouts of sprint races, without driver changes, through Saturday and Sunday.

The DTM Trophy, which features near-series spec GT racing cars with rear-wheel drive, will run across six weekends, alongside the main event. As in DTM, the DTM Trophy has two free-practice sessions per race weekend on Fridays, and a 20-minute qualifying session and 30-minute race each on Saturdays and Sundays. The series is set to kick off in Zolder, Belgium on 24 – 26 April. Prize money for the support series comprises 150,000 euros  between the top three drivers: the winner receives 75,000 euros, second place 50,000 and 25,000 for third.

First to sign up for the DTM Trophy is Team GT, featuring two McLaren 570s and a pair of young pilots. Team GT is based in Munich

Before the series kicks into high gear, DTM promoters are already pursuing more competitors to partake in the new series. Registration deadline is 11 March, with an enrolment fee of 23,000 euros per participant, with tyres and fuel free of charge at all official events. This not only applies to all race weekends in the support program of the DTM in 2020, but also a potential ITR-organized pre-season test.

DTM Trophy regulations

Drivers and teams with near-series-spec GT cars eligible for FIA categories E2-SH and E2-SC of all manufacturers are entitled to participate. Almost every brand represented in motorsport has a corresponding GT car with 400 to 500 hp in its portfolio.

In its debut season, the DTM Trophy is scheduled to run across six DTM race weekends:

2020 DTM/DTM Trophy calendar

  1. Zolder 24-26 April
  2. Lausitzring 15-17 May
  3. Anderstorp 12-14 June
  4. Norisring 10-12 July
  5. Nürburgring 11-13 September
  6. Hockenheimring 2-4 October