Nissan NISMO begins title defense at Okayama Season-opener

2016 Super GT Nissan and Nismo begin Super GT championship defense Reigning Super GT Champions Nissan NISMO is set to defend its GT500 and GT300 titles at this weekend’s season-opener at the Okayama Circuit. Sunday’s opening round of the championship is set for another tough bout for all competitors on the 300 km Okayama track, over 82 lap.

In last year’s opening round of the championship Calsonic GT-R no.12 drivers Hironobu Yasuda and JP de Oliveira finished third in the GT500 race, while Hoshino and Lucas Ordóñez took fourth position in GT300.

NISMO has triumphed in four of the past five Super GT GT500 championship battles and now Nissan has its sights set on repeating its winning ways in the 2016 championship.

Last year’s championship victory by Tsugio Matsuda and Ronnie Quintarelli was their second consecutive title win and Quintarelli’s fourth in total (he won with Masataka Yanagida in 2011 and 2012).

The GT-R has now claimed the Super GT GT500 crown on five occasions but 2016 was the first in Super GT GT300 for the GT-R. #nissan previously claimed the GT300 title in 2008 and 2010 with the Nissan Fairlady Z Z33.

Prior to the commencement of the Super GT era in 2005, Nissan took seven top class titles starting from 1993 along with four GT2/GT300 crowns.

The Nissan NISMO’s 2016 Super GT GT500 line-up will feature: the Motul Autech GT-R car no.1 with drivers Tsugio Matsuda and Ronnie Quintarelli, led by team principal Yutaka Suzuki; Calsonic IMPUL GT-R car no.12 with drivers Hironobu Yasuda and João Paulo de Oliveira, led by Kazuyoshi Hoshino; Forum Engineering ADVAN KONDO Racing GT-R with drivers Daiki Sasaki an Masataka Yanagida, led by Masahiko Kondo; and S Road CraftSports GT-R MOLA no.46 with drivers Satoshi Motoyama and Katsumasa Chiyo, led by Toshiomi Oeki.

In GT300 former GT Academy winner Jann Mardenborough will race full-time in Japan with NDDP Racing alongside two-time GT300 champion, Kazuki Hoshino.

After Okayama, the Super GT contingent moves on to Fuji for round 2 from 3 -4 May, Autopolis round 3 from 21 – 22 May, Sugo round 4, 23 – 24 July, Fuji round 5, 6 – 7 August, Suzuka round 6, 27 – 28 August, Chang Circuit Thailand round 7, 8 – 9 October, and the finale at Twin Ring Motegi from 12 – 13 November.