Organizers confirm 2017 Formula 1 calendar

 2016 F1 Spanish GP race start Formula 1 organizers have confirmed the 2017 calendar at the recent World Motorsport Council meet. The new F1 season comprises 20 races across the continents.

The first race of the new season begins with the Australian Grand Prix on 24 – 26 March 26. Second and third races of the season will shift to the China’: Shanghai circuit and Bahrain in the month of April. The Russian track at Sochi will be the venue for the fourth round at the end of April.

Thereafter, the circus heads for the European leg, starting with the Spanish GP at the Catalunya track in mid-May. The Principality will host round 6 at Monte Carlo at month’s end.

Formula 1 then switches continents to North America for the Canadian GP at the famous Gilles Villeneuve circuit from 9 – 11 June. Round 8 will take the circus to the Baku track in Azerbaijan from 27 – 29 June.

The European leg resumes at the picturesque Red Bull Ring in Austria at the beginning of July. July’s busy schedule will the circus compete at Britain’s Silverstone track and the Hungaroring, as well.  After the break, F1 resumes at the awesome Spa-Francorchamps from 25 – 27 August. The Italian GP concludes the European leg in early September.

The flyaway races will begin with the Night race at Singapore’s Marina Bay Street circuit in mid-September, followed by the Malaysian GP from 29 September till 1 October and the Japanese GP at Suzuka, a week after.

The final four races of the season kicks off with the COTA in Austin, Texas, USA, then the Mexican and Brazilian GPs in late October and mi-November. Abu Dhabi will again host the season finale 26 November.

Main changes in the 2017 calendar include Malaysia and Singapore switching places, the absence of the race in Germany, and Baku moving a week earlier, avoiding a clash with the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

2017 Formula 1 calendar

March 26 – Australia (Melbourne)
April 9 – China (Shanghai)
April 16 – Bahrain (Bahrain)
April 30 – Russia (Sochi)
May 14 – Spain (Barcelona)
May 28 – Monaco (Monte Carlo)
June 11 – Canada (Montreal)
June 25 – Azerbaijan (Baku)
July 9 – Austria (Spielberg)
July 16 – Great Britain (Silverstone)
July 30 – Hungary (Budapest)
August 27 – Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
September 3 – Italy (Monza)
September 17 – Singapore (Singapore)
October 1 – Malaysia (Sepang)
October 8 – Japan (Suzuka)
October 22 – USA (Austin)
October 29 – Mexico (Mexico City)
November 12 – Brazil (Sao Paulo)
November 26 – Abu Dhabi (Abu Dhabi)