Rossi bumps off Marquez for top spot at MotoGP Assen TT

 2015 MotoGP Assen Valentino Rossi fights to the finish In what was the greatest race spectacle of the current season, Valentino Rossi exhibited his prowess and true Championship contention with a remarkable victory over rival and Reigning Champion Marc Marquez at the MotoGP Assen TT.

Rossí’s win at the Dutch track was the 111th of his illustrious career. Marquez somewhat dissatisfied after the bump & grind on the last corner had to settle for second, while Jorge Lorenzo took third to contribute to Yamaha’s fifth double podium of the season.

In the qualifiers, Rossi topped all with the circuit’s best lap record of 1:32.627 for his 61st pole. Qualifying for the Assen TT was an incredibly tough battle with the top seven riders separated by just 0.4 seconds. Once again, Aleix Espargaro put his Suzuki on the front row of the grid, ahead of Marquez who managed a third quickest time of 1:32.886 on his final lap of eight.

Dani Pedrosa headed the second row with the fourth fastest qualifying lap time. Behind the Repsol Honda were Pol Espargaro and Andrea Iannone in fifth and sixth. Cal Crutchlow led Lorenzo and the second Suzuki of Maverick Vinales on row three, while Andrea Dovizioso was the top rider on row four.

As expected the race was a Rossi – Marquez showdown and Rossi wouldn’t have it any other way. A legion of Rossi fans were on track to cheer on their hero, and the Doctor would not let the diehard fans down.

Off the pole, Rossi quickly got into the lead and held a 0.426 advantage to Marquez after the first lap. Lorenzo had already jumped to fifth place, having started from eighth on the grid. Rossi, however, couldn’t quite break away from Marquez in the early stages and by lap four, Marquez was within striking distance. The 9-time champion was able to hold off Marquez in the middle stages, but by a bare 0.3 – 0.4 secs. At the middle stint, Lorenzo was riding a lonely third place and Crutchlow, running fifth, led the third group.

Seven laps from the end, Marquez decided to make his move as he swooped past the lead Yamaha at turn one for the lead. He could almost clinch on to the lead until the end of the race, but Rossi would bite back. He stuck on Marquez like glue through the fast ‘ess-es’ of the Assen TT and four laps from the end, the Doctor charged up on the inside to reclaim back the lead from the Repsol Honda rider. Rossi was able to sweep past Marquez with a personal best lap of 1:33.673. It wouldn’t end there as Marquez didn’t give up the chase and it went down to the wire.

Marquez initially zipped past on the inside of Rossi for the lead on the final lap’s last corners, but Rossi bumped him and went onto the gravel. He, however, held on to his M1 and propelled his bike to the finish line for the remarkable victory; his third of the season.

Lorenzo was third after the first lap when he dispatched A.Espargarò and Pol Espargarò. After that, he would ride a lonely third place until the chequered flag. Iannone led Ducati’s charge with a consistent fourth place finish. He started sixth on the grid and got off to a good start, up to fifth at the end of the first lap. On lap 3, he passed P.Espargaro to move into fourth, a position he held until the chequered flag.

Rossi now holds on to the lead in the championship with a 163 points total; ten points in front of his teammate. The MotoGP crews resume Round 9 action at the Sachsenring, Germany in two weeks’ time.

2015 MotoGP Assen Valentino Rossi podium2015 MotoGP Assen Valentino Rossi2015 MotoGP Assen Jorge Lorenzo2015 MotoGP Assen Andrea Iannone2015 MotoGP Assen Andrea Dovizioso

2015 MotoGP Assen TT results

1 Valentino Rossi 40:54.037
2 Marc Marquez 1.242
3 Jorge Lorenzo 14.576
4 Andrea Iannone 19.109
5 Pol Espargaro 24.268
6 Cal Crutchlow 24.373
7 Bradley Smith 24.442
8 Dani Pedrosa 24.656
9 Aleix Espargaro 26.725
10 Maverick Vinales 27.238
11 Danilo Petrucci 29.038
12 Andrea Dovizioso 29.418
13 Scott Redding 46.663
14 Yonny Hernandez 49.305
15 Loris Baz 52.396

Riders standings
1. Valentino Rossi Yamaha 163
2. Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 153
3. Andrea Iannone Ducati 107
4. Marc Marquez Honda 89
5. Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 87
6. Bradley Smith Yamaha Tech3 77
7. Cal Crutchlow Honda 57
8. Pol Espargaro Yamaha Tech3 56
9. Maverick Viñales Suzuki 52
10. Daniel Pedrosa Honda 47
11. Danilo Petrucci Ducati 44
12. Aleix Espargaro Suzuki 38
13. Scott Redding Honda 30
14. Yonny Hernandez Ducati 28
15. Hector Barbera Ducati 16
16. Loris Baz Yamaha 14
19. Stefan Bradl Yamaha 9