Tag: Bahrain GP

F1 Bahrain GP: Hamilton scores first win of season in a Mercedes 1-2 finish

Reigning Champion Lewis Hamilton scored his first win at the Bahrain Grand Prix in Manama, Round 2 of the Formula 1 World Championships. Ir was Hamilton’s third win at the desert track. Team mate Valtteri Bottas came home second, and together with Hamilton, claimed Mercedes’ 1000th point in F1.  With second place, Bottas continues to lead the drivers standings with 44 points, just a point up on Hamilton.

Ferrari’s rookie Charles LeClerc who took his very pole on Saturday controlled the race from the start, but an engine issue would force a more careful drive and nearly cost him a podium spot. He would finish behind the Mercedes cars.

In the Constructors, no one could touch Mercedes with 87 points. Ferrari is closest with 48 points.

Mercedes cars didn’t have the best of starts as they started from row 2. The front group were the Ferraris,  Mercedes and a Red Bull. Vettel led from Bottas and LeClerc at  the start. It was a Ferrari 1 – 2 moments later as LeClerc jumped ahead  After the stop, Mercedes cars took the top spot from the Ferraris and never looked back.

Bad news came when LeClerc’s car had an engine fault and couldn’t go max speed on the straights, during the most critical stage of the race. He struggled to keep the car in place but drifted further and further away from the Mercedes cars. Verstappen closed in for the bite in the last laps, but a safety car period due to the stranded Renaults at the end of the race saved LeClerc’s podium spot as Verstappen had clamped him down for the third spot. Vettel, too, had a disappointing race after losing positions and ended up fifth.

Lando Norris took sixth from Alfa Romeo’s Kimi Raikkonen  The second Red  Bull of Pierre Gasly was eighth, followed by Alexander Albon, ninth, and Sergio Perez, tenth.

F1 Bahrrain Grand Prix results

1     Lewis Hamilton    MERCEDES       1:34:21.295  

2     Valtteri Bottas      MERCEDES        +2.980s 

3     Charles Leclerc    FERRARI       +6.131s 

4     Max Verstappen   RED BULL        +6.408s 

5     Sebastian Vettel   FERRARI       +36.068s      

6     Lando Norris MCLAREN       +45.754s      

7     Kimi Räikkönen    ALFA ROMEO        +47.470s      

8     Pierre Gasly  RED BULL       +58.094s      

9     Alexander Albon  TORO ROSSO +62.697s      

10   Sergio Perez BWT      +63.696s

Drivers standings

1     Valtteri Bottas      FIN       MERCEDES 44

2     Lewis Hamilton    GBR       MERCEDES 43

3     Max Verstappen   NED       RED BULL RACING     27

4     Charles Leclerc    MON       FERRARI      26

5     Sebastian Vettel   GER       FERRARI      22

6     Kimi Räikkönen    FIN ALFA ROMEO 10

7     Lando Norris GBR       MCLAREN RENAULT 8

8     Kevin Magnussen DEN       HAAS FERRARI      8

9     Nico Hulkenberg  GER       RENAULT     6

10   Pierre Gasly  FRA       RED BULL RACING     4

Vettel scores back-to-back win at F1 Bahrain GP

  The Formula 1 Bahrain Grand Prix saw Sebastien Vettel secure a back-to-back win for Ferrari, over arch-rival Mercedes-AMG F1 Team. Vettel topped Valtteri Bottas and Lewis Hamilton for the top spot on the Bahraini GP podium. The two opening races see Ferrari hold an early advantage in terms of performance and speed over their rivals. It’s another Ferrari vs Mercedes season, so strap on if you’re a fan of either squad.

Read more

Bottas captures first ever pole at F1 Bahrain GP

  In qualifying for the Bahrain GP, Bottas captured pole ahead of team mate Lewis Hamilton and rival Sebastien Vettel. It was the Finn’s first ever pole position in Formula 1.

Read more

Rosberg takes first-ever win F1 Bahrain GP

2016 F1 Bahrain GP Nico Rosberg The incident-packed F1 Bahrain Grand Prix was again dominated by Mercedes; this time it was Nico Rosberg who bettered the Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen for top honors. Reigning Champion Lewis Hamilton ran a lonely race to finish third, but rival Sebastien Vettel had an engine failure right at the start of the race and retired from the race. It was Rosberg’s first victory at the Bahrain International Circuit.

Read more

Hamilton scores 2nd straight pole at Bahrain

2016 F1 Bahrain GP Lewis Hamilton pole Qualifying for the second round of the Formula One World Championships again saw the Mercedes cars of Reigning Champion Lewis Hamiltona and Nico Rosberg take charge. The Mercedes duo bettered the Ferrari duo of Sebastien Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen in another wild goose chase qualifier on the desert circuit. In the end, Hamilton finished less than a hundredth of a second from Rosberg for the pole, 0.077s to be exact.

Read more

Win no.3 and counting for Hamilton at F1 Bahrain GP

 2015-F1-Bahrain-Hamilton-leads-after-first-stop It’s win number 3 for Lewis Hamilton as he stomped his way from pole to the chequered flag, relatively unchallenged. Kimi Raikkonen finished second, ahead of the second Mercedes of Nico Rosberg, to secure his first podium since his return to the Prancing Horse squad.

Read more

Sebastian Vettel is untouchable at the F1 Bahrain Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel captures 2nd win of season 2013 Bahrain GP The Formula One Bahrain Grand Prix, the fourth race race of the season was an exciting one with Reigning Champion Sebastian Vettel dominating it from nearly start to finish. The two Lotus of Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean finished second and third behind the Red Bull triple F1 Champion for the first Lotus double podium of the year. Fourth place was Paul di Resta who scored the highest finish for Force India, and fifth place went to Lewis Hamilton.

Read more

Nico Rosberg claims pole in qualifying for F1 Bahrain Grand Prix

 Nico Rosberg tops 2013 Bahrain GP qualifying Qualifying for the Bahrain Grand Prix, Round 4 of the Formula One World Championships saw another Mercedes AMG F1 Team driver lead the session.

Read more