Tag: Malaysian gp

Vinales wins Meaning-less Malaysian Grand Prix

The penultimate round this year’s MotoGP race fell to the Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang.  This time around, at least someone other than newly crowned Champion Marc Marquez was able to win the race, although a rather meaning-less one. Factory Yamaha squad’s Maverick Vinales turned up the juice to beat Marquez and Andrea Dovizioso. Dovizioso’s podium finish did Shell some justice as they were the event and the team title sponsors. Fan favorite Valentino Rossi managed fourth, edging out Suzuki’s Alex Rins.

Shell held plenty of off-track activities to get people to go watch the race live and it apparently worked. Furthermore, tickets were relatively cheap by International Grand Prix standards to watch the world’s premier two-wheel race. The fans got their money’s worth as MotoGP is the most exciting race to watch and it doesn’t go on forever, with so many unnecessary interruptions.

The race started at high noon, as always Marquez was lightning quick off the line and grabbed six positions in the first two corners. Vinales led  Jack Miller in the first lap, with Marquez trailing close in third. With nine places gained, the reigning champion settled in behind Miller for a short while. After muscling past the Australian, Marquez began to work on closing the 1.6 second gap to Viñales.

The race quickly settled as Marquez eased up and allowed Vinales to maintain his lead. He rather finished in the points and prevented from ending up in the dirt. Dovizioso had dispatched Miller to get up to third place. Miller then had to confront Valentino Rossi who was blazing up behind him. The Doctor took his time and dispatched Miller in Turn 9 for fourth, with seven laps to go. Rossi next went after Dovizioso, but the Yamaha proved not as effective as the Ducati. He would settle in and defended his place from Rins. The order would finish with Vinales the winner, Marquez, Dovizioso, Rossi and Rins.

For Marquez, the result in Malaysia him the honor of being the first rider in history to score 17 MotoGP class podium finishes in a single season, extending his unbroken run of top-two finishes to 15. Marquez’s last finish outside of the top two came at the Czech GP in 2018 when he was third.

The teams now get a week’s rest after three consecutive GPs, before they return to action in Valencia for the finale, 14 – 17 November.

2019 MotoGP Malaysian GP Sepang results

1          Maverick Viñales        Yamaha           ESP            40’14.632

2          Marc Marquez Honda ESP     00’03.059

3          Andrea Dovizioso       Ducati ITA     00’05.611

4          Valentino Rossi          Yamaha           ITA            00’05.965

5          Alex Rins        Suzuki ESP     00’06.350

6          Franco Morbidelli       Yamaha           ITA            00’09.993

7          Fabio Quartararo         Yamaha           FRA            00’12.864

8          Jack Miller      Honda AUS    00’17.252

9          Danilo Petrucci           Ducati ITA     00’19.773

10        Joan Mir          Suzuki ESP     00’22.854

Riders standings

1          Marc Marquez Honda ESP     395

2          Andrea Dovizioso       Ducati ITA     256

3          Maverick Viñales        Yamaha           ESP     201

4          Alex Rins        Suzuki ESP     194

5          Danilo Petrucci           Ducati ITA     176

6          Fabio Quartararo         Yamaha           FRA    172

7          Valentino Rossi          Yamaha           ITA     166

8          Jack Miller      Honda AUS    149

9          Cal Crutchlow Honda GBR    133

10        Franco Morbidelli       Yamaha           ITA     115

Pedrosa notches up pole at MotoGP penultimate round in Sepang

  Qualifiers for the MotoGP Malaysian Round took place at the Sepang International Circuit, this afternoon. Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa captured pole position ahead of Yamaha Tech 3’s Johann Zarco and Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso.

Read more

MotoGP title could be decided at the penultimate round in Malaysia

  Just after the previous race at Phillip Island, MotoGP crews head for the Malaysian Grand Prix; the penultimate round of the Championship. The Riders’ title chase is down to two contenders; Marc Marquez and Andrea Dovizioso, with Marquez on a 33-point advantage. Going into the final stretch, Marquez is the man to beat following his masterful win at Phillip Island last time out. On top of that, Marquez’s team lead both the Manufacturers’ and Teams’ categories as well.

Read more

Verstappen captures win at final F1 Malaysian Grand Prix

  The final installment of the Formula 1 Malaysian Grand Prix saw Red Bull’s Max Verstappen take victory from title contender Lewis Hamilton. Verstappen’s team mate Daniel Ricciardo finished third, just ahead of the other contender Sebastien Vettel. Vettel came back strong to finish fourth following an engine change prior to qualifying, which saw him started at the back of the starting grid.

Read more

The end of Formula One in Malaysia

  Formula One is coming to an end in Malaysia as Sepang International Circuit and F1 organizers have confirmed that 2017 will be the final race. Sepang International Circuit has hosted Formula 1 since 1999, and both Formula 1 and SIC say they are determined to make this year’s event in October a fitting finale for Malaysia’s one and only F1 circuit.

Read more

Ricciardo wins it from Verstappen at F1 Malaysian GP

 2016 F1 Malaysian GP Daniel RIcciardo leads The Formula 1 Malaysian Grand Prix saw Red Bull’s Daniel RIcciardo take victory ahead of team mate Max Verstappen in an exciting, incident-packed race. Current Championship leader Nico Rosberg sloughed to a third place finish for the final podium spot due to ten-second penalty, while team mate Lewis Hamilton was forced to retire on an engine failure.

Read more

Get ready for the world’s Hottest race: F1 Malaysian Grand Prix

2015 F1 runner up Nico Rosberg_2 Formula One fans can look forward to an exciting line-up of activities and new experiences in conjunction with the upcoming 2016 Formula One Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix which takes place from 30 September to 2 October.

Read more

A new venue makes up 21 races in 2016 Formula 1 Calendar

2015 F1 Malaysia Nico Rosberg After a less-than-exciting Formula 1 season where Mercedes-AMG F1 Team seemed to be the indomitable force through the 19 races of the year, the Formula 1 World Championships have expanded its calendar to include 21 races for the new season. The season kicks off, as usual, at the Albert Park track in Melbourne, Australia, from 18 – 20 March.

Read more

Vettel retrieves Ferrari pride with solid win at the F1 Malaysian Grand Prix

 2015-F1-Malaysia-Sebastien-Vettel-holds-them-back Closer to home, the Malaysian Grand Prix survived yet another massive thunderstorm for the 56-lap Round 2 of the Formula One World Championships as four-time F1 Champion Sebastien Vettel grabbed his first victory of the season. Ferraris have always gone well at the technical 5.543 kilometers Sepang I’nat Circuit, and Vettel had proved that testament. Reigning champion Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg had to settle for second and third after a gruelling race.

Read more

Lotus Malaysia hands over final unit of the Exige LF1 limited edition

 2015 Lotus Exige LF1, final unit handover _2 Lotus Cars Malaysia did their bid to grab some attention for themselves with the last unit handover announcement of the Exige LF1 Limited Edition, in conjunction with the Malaysian F1 Grand Prix weekend. Lotus Cars Malaysia (LCM) handed over the final unit of the limited edition ‘Exige LF1’ during the weekend’s Bukit Bintang Grand Prix Street Festival.

Read more