TCR Asia Series heads for finale at China’s Zhejiang track

  The Zhejiang Circuit in China will be the backdrop for an intense finale for Liqui Moly Team Engstler in its bid to defend the TCR Asia Title.

The 2017 season goes down to the wire for the current championship leaders at the newly built 3.2km circuit.

The team heads the leaderboard with 289 points, while drivers Kantadhee Kusiri (THA) leads the Driver’s Championship with 150 points and Diego Moran (ECU) lies third with 139.

“It’s always good to head into a race weekend on a positive. After reclaiming our lead in the Team and Driver’s championships during the last outing in Shanghai, everyone is good spirits and is looking forward for a good weekend” said Kurt Treml, Sport & Marketing Director of Liqui Moly Team Engstler.

“The circuit is new for everybody and as usual, our great crew will work extremely hard to ensure that both Kusiri and Diego will get the best cars possible for the race. We are all clearly focused on doing our best to defend our title and so far the signs are good for us”.

The Shanghai podium finishes means that both Kusiri and Moran will carry success ballast of 30kg and 20kg respectively. “The success ballast will not make our lives easier for this very important final race weekend, but our drivers are more than capable and we will do our best to defend our lead and the championship title”.
TCR Asia finale will have a bumped up grid thanks to the participation of the TCR China Series. The event is scheduled to be held on 7 – 8 October 2017 at the Zhejiang Circuit in Shaoxing, a few hours south of Shanghai.

Qualifying is scheduled at 3.30pm (local time) on Saturday, 7 October, whilst the two 30-minute races will be held on Sunday, 8 October with Round 11 scheduled at 2.30pm and Round 12 at 4.05pm.

Liqui Moly Team Engstler will compete in the full TCR Asia Series 2017 season with two Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR with car no.2 driven by Kantadhee Kusiri of Thailand and car no.32 driven by Ecuador driver Diego Moran for China. The team is supported by Liqui Moly, Remus, VW Motorsport, Hella Pagid, Drexler drivetrain, Motec rims, Recaro and Eibach.